Kyoto Coffee's Blog

Welcome to our forum – let's talk coffee!

Thanks Peterborough Wednesday Farmers market October 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tracy @ 5:58 pm

what an amazing day it was today! near 20 celcius – and sunny – actually warm in the sun – warm enough to start ice coffees … our final day included a guest chef who prepared amazing goat meat chili – yes – I know … I was skeptical too – but it was really really good…

Every farm table was splashed with a rainbow of local colour – from eggplant and beet purples – red, white and blue potatoes ( I know!!! so pretty in a stew, or cut up into fries) to peppers of every colour – bright red radish – and their horse radish white cousins – brussel sprouts on the vine – to mushrooms growing from a stump – (yes – you heard me – GROW YOUR OWN!!!) fresh local apple cider – sits beside the best apple God ever created – the HONEY CRISP – you won’t find THAT apple in a grocery store – sooooo huge – and amazing crunch and juice…. mmmm… want your family to love apples again? only available for about 2 months every fall – so get em soon… before I eat them all…

Concord grapes, sweet carrots, onion, garlic, local cheeses, the prettiest glads I’ve ever seen… deep rich flavour that comes from picking ripe produce hours before it hits your table… baking fresh from the day before –

I’ll miss you Wednesday market – until next May… when we reconvene – in the meantime – many of the local farmers can still be found at the Saturday market – which goes year round. 

deep thanks to the tireless board of directors who do so much to promote our market – and make sure everyone knows about our producer only efforts – (this means no resellers) check out their twitter @ptbowedmarket 

What a great family we have – I have the best job ever…

 

2 Responses to “Thanks Peterborough Wednesday Farmers market”

  1. France Says:

    For sure !
    I for one am so Thankful for all my fav farmers 🙂
    And , coffee roasters 🙂
    Where can I buy your coffee during the week?
    Family obligations have kept me away …
    from Sat market… till next Sat and I’m out?

  2. Tracy Says:

    there’s a link on the main page of my site – shows everyone who carry’s my coffee – depends on what’s closest to you – worst case scenario, if you are in town – and would take 2 pounds – I can deliver…


Leave a Reply

